List of rice varieties

Last updated: Jul 10, 2019  |  322 Views  |  content

List of rice varieties

This is a list of rice varieties, also known as rice cultivars. There are several grains called rice, which have been cultivated for thousands of years.

Asian rice (Oryza sativa) is most widely known and most widely grown, with two major subspecies and over 40,000 varieties. Also included in this list are varieties of African rice (Oryza glaberrima) and wild rice (genus Zizania). Rice may vary in genetics, grain length, color, thickness, stickiness, aroma, growing method, and other characteristics, leading to a vast variety. For instance, over nine major varieties of rice exist for the purpose of making sake alone.

Rice can be divided into different categories on the basis of each of its major characteristics. The two subspecies of Asian rice, indica and japonica, can generally be distinguished by length and stickiness. Indica rice is long-grained and unsticky, while japonica is short-grained and glutinous.

On the basis of processing type, rice can be divided into the two broad categories of brown and white. Brown rice is whole grain, with only the inedible hull of the seed removed, while white (milled) rice additionally has the bran and germ removed through the process of milling. Milled rice may not necessarily actually be white in color; there are also purple, black, and red variants of rice, which can be eaten whole grain or milled.

The varieties listed in this article may vary in any number of these characteristics, and most can be eaten whole grain or milled (brown or white), although there are often strong cultural preferences for one or the other, depending on variety and region.

Related content
Powered by